20240628 – Mandurah Friday

“Sunset Hornet wins the Winter Sprint”

The Winter Sprint series was first contested in 2000 when Firefly Jack saluted over 410m on the old track for Tony Simpson. Notable winners since include Black Watch (2005), Galba Magic (2010), Buddy Be Cool (2012), Mique (2016) and Bones McCoy (2022). A star-studded lineup was assembled tonight with the in-form Sunset Hornet a clear favourite after winning her previous four starts at the Mandurah track in very slick times. Outsider Brain Teaser exploded out of box seven but was unable to cross Sunset Hornet who quickly mustered up inside his rivals to lead. She then powered clear to lead throughout in a brilliant time of 22.18. The winning margin was four lengths with the Enzo Crudeli prepared Bunji Man motoring home for second ahead of the fading Brain Teaser who held on for third. Sunset Hornet is raced by David Hobby and tonight’s victory took her career earnings over $100,000.


Race 1 Number 6 ALL GRUNT : Stormed home to win his first race at the Mandurah track at his 27th attempt.

Race 2 Number 8 IMPRESS ROLLS : Showed dazzling mid race speed to win over 300m in 17.17.

Ryan Levitzke (commentator)
Weight Variations