20231124 – Mandurah Friday

“Christine Robartson wins her fourth Mandurah Cup”

The Mandurah Cup was first run in back in 1979 when Hunt’s Reject saluted over 530m. Champion sprinter Sandi’s Me Mum won in 1991 and notable winners since include Mickey Rourke (1994), Reggemite (1999), Vulture Street (2008), Flying Emu (2010), Astrozone (2017) and Vice Grip (2022). An elite field was assembled for tonight’s final over the new 488m distance. It was no surprise to see Crumble Monelli muster to the front from box two for David Hobby but the Christine Robartson prepared Hinto settled in second spot and quickly reeled in the leader. Hinto hit the lead as the field straightened and while King Tommy rocketed late Hinto scored by just over a length in 27.11. King Tommy for Chris Halse looks set for a very bright future and claimed second spot with Crumble Monelli gripping on for third. Hinto provided Robartson with her fourth victory in the race with her first being some 38 years ago when Tidi Level won in 1985. Her other two triumphs were in 1996 with Barelen Saint and in 2014 with Last Day.


Race 2 Number 2 WARM REGARDS : Looked very strong late and won by nine lengths at her 652m Mandurah debut.

Race 3 Number 5 JOE THE LION : Ran a bold third against quality opposition from a difficult box, he is ready to win.

Ryan Levitzke (commentator)
Weight Variations